Newbie questions

LauraSac

Chirping
5 Years
Mar 24, 2014
Sacramento, CA
I'm a newbie. Actually, not even that yet. We're getting our pullets from a 4-H kid on Friday. I live in Sacramento. We have really hot summers (triple digits with no or low humidity), with pleasant overnight temps (usually), and a strong, sometimes chilly Delta breeze. Since it's dry, it can be 100 degrees outside, but drop to 80 in the shade and be really comfortable. In the winter, we have some overnight freezing, rain (if we're not in a drought), and chilly to mild daytime temps (though this year, it was more like Spring). We have a 3 hen max in the city, so that's what we'll have. Our coop is 3 x 3 plus nesting boxes (two, but I might make one place to hold a scraper and cleaning items - or should I leave both available as nests?). The run is 4 feet tall and 4x8 feet. It's up against the back of our detached garage which will protect them from the Delta breeze. (see picture)

The sun will always be filtered except for mid-day when it's straight up. We're going to shade half the run and have the option of covering all of it in the rain. I also want a portable run so they can get more sun and I can get my lawn fertilized. I saw this: http://www.amazon.com/Pawhut-Outdoor-Triangular-Wooden-Rabbit/dp/B00ELU1A90/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1395772213&sr=8-3&keywords=pawhut+hutch. I was thinking of duplicating something like it. Do they need a hutch with a nesting box if we're going to leave them out for any period of time or can we just have the A-frame without the hutch?

We have six foot privacy fences, but have dogs on two sides (none the side the run butts up to). We also have dogs, and can control their interaction, but I'm hesitant to let them free range should they go over the fence. After my summer garden is over in the Fall/early winter, I thought I'd throw deer netting over my garden fence and let them have at it.