Newbie to ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by cleofish, May 30, 2017.

1. cleofish

cleofish New Egg

May 30, 2017
    Hi everyone im a newbie here from the UK. I just wanted to say hi and ask for some advice.

Im thinking of either having chickens or ducks but after reading im more leaning towards ducks.

We have a fairly large garden, with a lawn and lots of flower beds but im not too precious about them :)

I do have neighbours either side of me though, walled boundaries and we have good relationships.

I wanted to ask:

-In your opinion are chickens or ducks easier as a 'first' back garden bird to get?

-Ive read that chickens are more likely to tear up the garden and that you need to move their run around often?
    I was planning on having a static duck coop with an attached run with a kiddie pool inside to begin with, with the view of having a permanent pond with some sort of drainage later on. Would this be ok or would i need to move the set up every so often?
    When im out the back i would let the ducks have the run of the garden then as much as i can and put them to bed for the night at the end of the day.

-are ducks loudier than chickens? ive been reading conflicting advice about it.
    Ive been looking at breeds of ducks and i think welsh harlequinns would probably be more suited to my situation.

-Does anyone have any experience of welsh harlequinns, can they fly at all? When i looked at flightless birds i then found conflicting advice about that- i suppose its all to do with the indivual personality of the bird? :)

Sorry for all the questions, thanks in advance!

2. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

Get Ducks......
    Ducks are so much fun and make great pets...WH can not fly...Ducks are not as noisy as Chickens...They are like feathered puppies all their lives...If wanting Ducks do not get too many Drakes...One Drake to as many Hens you want..
    Congrats!.....:frow

3. yoopergirl1211