Newcomer

Lonelyfries

Chirping
Dec 2, 2018
Oklahoma
Hello everyone!
My husband and I have been hoping to move farther away from the city for a few years. We have found a good property to start a homestead and are waiting to be approved. I have found two breeds that I am very interested in, Sussex and Silkies. Since we live in Oklahoma I was wondering if these are good breeds to have and I am hoping to also hatch my own chicks. I don’t even know where to start, Please help.

Hello and welcome to BYC! :frow Glad you joined.
You can purchase day old chicks from Ideal hatchery. They are in Texas and are reputable. They also offer Marek's vaccinations.
However, if you are looking to breed for show quality, you may want to find local breeders of the variety you are interested in.
Silkies are heat tolerant, Sussex not as much.
Good luck and happy homesteading!

Hello and welcome to BYC! :frow Glad you joined.
You can purchase day old chicks from Ideal hatchery. They are in Texas and are reputable. They also offer Marek's vaccinations.
However, if you are looking to breed for show quality, you may want to find local breeders of the variety you are interested in.
Silkies are heat tolerant, Sussex not as much.
Good luck and happy homesteading!

Thank you for the information, I am not looking to have show quality chickens. I’d like to have a sustainable flock and know my eggs are coming from happy hens.

Thank you for the information, I not looking to make profit or to have show quality chickens. I’d like to have a sustainable flock and know my eggs are coming from happy hens.
It gets really hot in Oklahoma, would they be unhappy living here? Is there anything I’d be able to do to make them comfortable. Thank you so much for your time! :)

Thank you for the information, I not looking to make profit or to have show quality chickens. I’d like to have a sustainable flock and know my eggs are coming from happy hens.