Noob here!

h4farms

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 30, 2013
Hi I'm reading and learning about raising a couple of pigeons just for fun and see if I can train them also. If anyone could help me with ideas of what breed, coop, cage, feed, or anything else, it would be greatly appreciated!:)

I personally have white homing pigeons. I feed mine strictly chicken pellets. Egg laying pellets when not with squabs and meat builder when they are with squabs. (works for me).

There are as many diets and regiments as their are pigeon fanciers. I also feed extra corn and a splash of rabbit pellets during the winter months. I also feed extra grit during the winter months. Fresh water daily.

To tame my birds I feed shelled unsalted peanuts as a treat and hand feed only. Some of my birds do not realize they are all supposed to be pure white.

I also have a pair of pouters I use for drop birds and foster parents.

This is my pigeon bob trap it is not quite finished in this photo it has a hinged floor (for easy cleaning) and window which closes during in-climate weather.

My birds can home 300 and more miles (Belgium blood line) and I also do white dove releases at weddings and funerals and the like.

Last edited:

Hand Raised Orphaned Pigeon on Eggs

My grand daughter hand raised orphaned homer failed to return on a 20 mile toss. It was one of the few times she did not accompany me on a release. She suffered tears and heart ach when I told her of the loss.

Amazingly when I went to close up the loft at dusk what should come flying in but Piper (her pigeon).

I checked him over and he was tore open from his neck to his tail feathers.

My first instinct was to put him out of his misery. I however brought him into the house for a better look. My wife flushed out the wound with a saline solution and we glue him back together with crazy glue.He was good to go in about 5 days

This is him incubating eggs. .