1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Normal Chick behavior

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Newtohens, Apr 7, 2010.

1. Newtohens

Newtohens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2010
    What is normal chick behavior for the first week? I am new to this and I just want to make sure that I don't miss something and lose any of my girls. They arrived today and they all appear to be doing well. They are drinking and eating and picking through the bedding, but I do have a question about them getting sleepy. It seems like they will just hunker down, close their eyes, lean over and fall asleep. Is this normal? Also anything I should be on the look out for?

2. wildorchid053

wildorchid053 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2009
    syracuse area, ny
    they will fall asleep standing up lol.. and they roll over and look dead.. you have to be careful they don't do it while drinking water they can drown.. put stones or marbles in the water to prevent this.. they will actually run around and then suddenly stop and fall asleep.. enjoy your babies!

3. abanjaf

abanjaf Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    Cocoa, Florida
    They will fall asleep at the drop of a hat, in any position! Had one who would sleep flat on its back with feet up in the air! They're babies after all:) If they're eating, drinking, and active, then no worries. Pasty butt is common the first week, so just make sure everyone's butt is clean. Here's my little goofball:

[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  4. BethieofVA

BethieofVA Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2010
    Yorktown, Virginia
    That is the funniest pic ever!

5. Brickwood

Brickwood New Egg

Mar 16, 2010
    I was wondering the same thing and found this on Youtube which made me feel much better....

6. sheaviance1