OMG I'm freaking out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by 77horses, Sep 6, 2008.

1. 77horses

77horses ◊The Spontaneous Pullet!◊

Aug 19, 2008
    [CONFIDENTIAL]
    OMG this is my first time hatching out chicken eggs and they are in my homemade incubator!!! [​IMG] And OMG am I surprised!!!
    Our two hens laid an egg, so I decided to see if they would be fertile. So I put them in the bator, put temp. up to 97-101 degrees F. with a light, and GUESS WHAT!!??? ONE EGG IS FORMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I am sooo happy!!! Our hen, Abby, laid the egg, and now on the 6th day, there are little red veins and I can see the chicks eye I think!!! [​IMG] It is growing fast! I am expecting it to hatch around Sept. 20-27, since I put them in the bator (and they were laid) on 8/30/08. I am not sure if egg #2 will hatch, because it hasn't grown any veins yet. [​IMG] But I haven't given up hope yet! [​IMG] There is a small shadow in the slow growing egg though, but that could be the yolk. I will keep you posted about the eggs!!!! [​IMG] wish me and the eggs luck! [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. 77horses

Aug 19, 2008
    [CONFIDENTIAL]
    UPDATE:
    also, my teacher and the class was doing an "egg drop" and she had leftover eggs that weren't used, so I asked her where she had gotten them and she said "at a farm stand". so I told her that I was hatching eggs in a bator, and she gave me two eggs! [​IMG] But I have no idea how old they are and so far nothing is growing. But i just wanted to experiment with them. [​IMG]

3. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ