Our new additions! Can someone tell me what the "official" names are?

shellie003

Songster
9 Years
May 11, 2010
NE WI
Hi! I am new to the message boards and new to chickens! My husband and I decided to raise our own chickens. We ordered them from our local feed mill. All the descriptions said is Brown and Special Black. We got 4 of each. They are 16 days home. We also acquired a Delaware chick from a friend who tried to hatch his own and it is the only one who made it. We ordered all pullets from the feed mill but we are not sure what the Delaware is. Does anyone know what the official name of the Brown and Special Black ones might be?
I hope I post pictures right.

57174_dsc_0012.jpg

57174_dsc_0015.jpg

57174_dsc_0009.jpg

Thanks and look forward to learning from all of you!

The ones that aren't black look like my golden buffs, which I believe are also called red stars or sex-link. But I'm only 1 1/2 months into this.
hu.gif

Most likely Black Sex-Links and Red Sex-Links. Blacks are usually a cross between a Rhode Island Red or New Hampshire rooster and a Barred Rock hen. Red sex-links are a cross between a Rhode Island Red or New Hampshire rooster and a White Rock, Silver Laced Wyandotte, Rhode Island White or Delaware hen. Oh and by the way,
welcome-byc.gif
Glad you could join us.

frow.gif
welcome-byc.gif

Absolutely, they are nice chickens...of course, I think just about ALL chickens are nice chickens.
thumbsup.gif

They're called Sexlinks because the males and females are different colors, so sexing is nearly 100% accurate even as baby chicks. They're also bred to be excellent brown egg layers, so you'll have plenty of breakfast eggs in about 5 or 6 months! Congratulations!

I just bought 2 hens full grown and didnt know what breed they were either. I joined BYC about a month ago and had TONS of people helping me out
smile.png
Love it here, you will too.