Our newest addition.

jen_1122

Chirping
8 Years
May 22, 2011

So we had to let one of our Easter eggers go do to a bad attitude towards her fellow hens :( So, my husband took her to her new home with lots of other chickens and more space if she didn't get along with the others. she seemed to like the space :) Yay. But anyways, (being the man he is) he hated the fact that I had to give her up. He saw that his friends had some other chicks and they were looking to re home a few as well. And here "she" is. About 2-3 months old. We are hoping for a girl. Not sure what breed. I've looked at some silky (I think that's what I read) pics and they resemble them to me (to my untrained eye, lol). Was wondering what you guys thought. I think "she" is a real beauty. (Crossing fingers, knocking on wood and praying for a girl, she still has a home if she turns out to be a he though) Thank you. :)

Definately looks like a silkie, I'm by no means an expert but I'm going to guess at pullet. I'm sure somebody with more experience will give you a batter idea x

It's a silkie with light skin. Shouldn't have light skin like that, but it fits this little one. It's also a splash in colour (at least appears to be.. if it has any orange coming in - not splash).

Picture doesn't tell me either way on gender. Can I see the comb? With the light skin, it should be easier to tell gender. Comb will look red and raised if a boy, next to nothing and pale for a girl at this age.

it's splash in color. does it have 5 toes and feathered legs as well...it is silkied feathered and could just be an off silkie...leaning towards pullet from what i can see

So I was finally able to get some different angles. She is a bit shy. But, hope these help. She's eating like a champ now and exploring her domain, walks up to the fence to see the other chickens.

My husband was getting ready to work in the garage and I hit him up to get a few shots before he did and he was already gloved up, lol.