Passing Fancy or Long-Term Activity

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by CarolJ, Jul 4, 2011.

1. CarolJ

CarolJ Dogwood Trace Farm

Jun 3, 2011
    Middle Tennessee
    I'm a newbie - I've had my chickens for 3 weeks - they're 20 weeks old. I love having them, and find myself just sitting outside and watching them. They're fascinating. I've been thinking about trying my hand at hatching some chicks. However, my daughter said I might want to wait till at least December - see if my enjoyment of my chickens will sustain long-term. And, to be honest, so many times in life, we get involved in something - only to lose interest after a few weeks or months. Of course, I realize pets/animals are much different than taking up origami or ceramics! LOL! We have both a cat and a dog we've loved and cared for for over 5 years.

Still, I'm curious. How long have you kept chickens? Are there any here that have found it's more a passing fancy than a long-term activity?

2. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    I'm at 20 years, I reckon it's long term now........ [​IMG]

ETA, they can be a bother- we have no such thing as vacation anymore, but that really due to the dogs rather than the chickens!

Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  3. aarronh

aarronh Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2010
    Meadville, PA
    I was obsessed with chickens as a child... I hatched them in the 2nd grade, and ever since then, I had birds while growing up. I of course was a typical kid, and my mom often got stuck caring for the birds (which she despised).

Life happened, got involved with things in high school, etc. and the birds went to the wayside.

After six years of college, here I am... back into it... over 200 birds strong [​IMG]

4. chi-rn

chi-rn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2011
    Less than a year, but I can no longer imagine my life without chickens!
    [​IMG]

5. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey