Pasting up in newborn chicks

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Chickens in the Grove, Sep 23, 2010.

1. Chickens in the Grove

Chickens in the Grove Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2010
    Oregon
    I'm new to chickens and now 4 of my 6 chicks are getting pasty butts. They were born on Monday, got here on Tuesday, and all of them started pasting up Wednesday morning. I figured that they just weren't squating right and would figure it out and two of them did! Since then they haven't had a problem. But the other four I got a warm moist paper towel and washed their butts off. That didn't work very well, so a couple hours later I tried again with a q-tip. Now, ever couple hours I have to go wash their butts and put a little olive oil on them. I've been doing that for the last day now and it doesn't seem to be helping [​IMG] I don't think any of their vents have been completely blocked off. I'm a little worried about them eating and drinking enough, but they're still pooping fine. It hasn't been watering or anything. But they're starting to lose their feathers from all of the washing and one of their vents is protruding quite a bit. I know that I haven't been getting all of the poop off, but I'm struggling to do that with a q-tip. I'm wondering if I should just put them under warm running water until it's all off...? I haven't wanted to do that because they're only 3 days old! I don't want them to get too wet. But guess I can just blow dry them off afterwards and put them back in the brooder. I'm just worried about the trauma of submerging their butts in water. They're so tiny, I'm worried they'll get soaked! And then I'll have very wet, very unhappy little chicks who are still pooping on themselves.

What do you think?

2. Chickens in the Grove

Aug 29, 2010
    Oregon