Pastured poultry and free run layers first timer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by muircheartaigh, Jan 13, 2013.

1. muircheartaigh

muircheartaigh Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi everyone,

I'm new to BYC but have spent hours reading posts on all topics in the last few months in preparation for a small farm business venture this coming spring. My father, brother, and I have a multi-generational family farm in Northern New Brunswick, Canada (shout out to anyone in the area who is a member on this site) where we raise pastured beef. We've decided to follow Joel Salatin's chicken tractor method in the spring and would love to hear from anyone who has started a successful meat bird operation in shorter growing seasonal climates, raised laying hens in winterized chicken coops, or has birds for sale in our area of the Atlantic provinces. We plan on establishing a mixed heritage breed backyard flock by the end of march to provide farm fresh non-GMO grain fed chicken eggs at our local farmer's market. Looking forward to learning a great deal from current members and hearing from anyone who has advice to impart on raising chickens (We're cattlemen so a cornucopia of how-to and caveats would be great).
    It is such a gift to provide care and stewardship to God's beautiful creatures during their time with us.
    Thanks,
    JM

2. willowbranchfarm

willowbranchfarm Chicken Boots

Oct 3, 2011
    Virginia
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!!! :) Glad you joined.

3. Melabella

Melabella Overrun With Chickens

Jun 2, 2011
    [​IMG] Welcome to BYC! Your intentions sound lovely, and I am sure all the people at the farmers market will be all the healthier for those incredible eggs!