Pea chicks

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by Ballyhoo, Jul 17, 2016.

1. Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo Just Hatched

Jun 23, 2016
    Hullo there, I'm new to both the Backyard Chickens forum and to this the Peafowl forum, so please dont shout at me if this question has been asked before....

I have two unexpected arrivals (pea chicks obv) who are now 23 days old and great little darlings. I have had them in my home made brooder, in a nice warm room with plenty of light etc. etc. and the lamp on them at night for the last week. Previously they were under the lamp 24/7. My question is, when can I move them to a more suitable, outside environment, (a stable)? I have three hen chicks in there at the moment (aged undetermined as they were given to us - slightly smaller than the pea chicks, so guessing two three weeks old?) and a young runner duck and a muscovy-ish duck about seven weeks old.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Any advice greatly appreciated :)

Regards, Mark

2. DylansMom

DylansMom RIP 1969-2017

Jan 10, 2014
    PA
    Peachicks-
    immune systems mature much slower than those of chickens or ducks therefore they remain very susceptible to soil Bourne illnesses and microorganisms. Most of us try to keep them off the ground until 10 to 12 weeks of age. And then we continue monitoring and using medicated feed to try to ensure a smooth transition.

2 people like this.
  3. Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo Just Hatched

Jun 23, 2016
    Many thanks for that. I was planning on putting them in a stable with rubber stable matting and wood shavings/straw etc over. Is this considered 'ground'? Would the presence of the chicken chicks be considered detrimental to the health of the pea chicks?

Ta! :)

4. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member Project Manager

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop