pecking

benz girl

Hatching
10 Years
May 11, 2009
I'm new to having chicks. Mine are about 2 weeks old. We just moved them yesterday to a bigger area. They were in a very large box. We now have them in an area that is bigger. We are still working on the area they will be in so for now they are in our garage. We just put 4 doors together to make a 5x8 (give or take a little) area. The doors have windows so it is brighter. We added a few places for them to roost. I noticed today that 1 had blood by its back tail feathers. The others kept pecking at it. We thought it was from the roost so we took that down and then i noticed another with the same thing. We separated those 2 from the group and as i'm watching them i see another one with blood on its back and the others going after it. We now have 3 separated. I have heard we shouldn't separate them but i'm not sure what to do. They have plenty of food and water. We have the automatic feeders for them so i know they aren't hungry. Does anyone have any advice or know something i can try? I need to know why they are pecking each other and also what to do with the ones that are bleeding. Thanks.

Watch them close, you probably have one chick that is bloodying them. Once the other chicks see blood they will automatically start pecking. So find out who is doing the real damage and separate that one. The best way to separate them is with 1/2" hardware cloth or Plexiglas (hardware cloth is much cheaper) so they can see each other but can't get to each other. That keeps the camaraderie so they still know each other when you return them to the same pen.