Please help me! Cold climate.

Pics

Koiandchicks

Chirping
Mar 15, 2023
I'm brand new to this. I'm sure there's discussion about this but I am having trouble finding the right answer. First I live in Ohio. This past winter we dipped down to - 20 degrees below zero. We're building a coop from scratch. I found a picture of one I like with 3 sides wood and the fourth side is all framed hardware cloth. I'm guessing it's an 8 foot by 8 foot cube with a slanted roof. We have 10 chicks now ( currently in our house) do I need to cover the 4 the side or partially cover it next winter when the hen's are outside for the winter. I'm nervous about the cold and love my little chicks so much. I need suggestions and assurance, especially from people who understand keeping chickens in the Midwest cold.

🤔
I live in the midwest (IN) and I have a woods open air coop and the front wall is mostly hardware cloth. But the woods coops are designed so that the back remains draft free.
With your coop being that size and a cube shape, I would plastic off the lower portion to keep out snow and drafts. You could always adjust the amount needed based in how the winter is shaking out.
It would be best to build with the hardware cloth facing away from the direction the wind comes from.

🤔
I live in the midwest (IN) and I have a woods open air coop and the front wall is mostly hardware cloth. But the woods coops are designed so that the back remains draft free.
With your coop being that size and a cube shape, I would plastic off the lower portion to keep out snow and drafts. You could always adjust the amount needed based in how the winter is shaking out.
It would be best to build with the hardware cloth facing away from the direction the wind comes from.
Here's a pic of my coop for reference
20230217_111327.jpg

Oh, that's not true.
They don't need an environment as warm as humans do.