poorly chick

niknchicks

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 1, 2014
Lincolnshire, England
Hi from England! I'm a lab technician in a school and I've hatched chicks for a class of year 11s for the first time and I need help.
we have 8 chicks (which will all be coming home with me when they grow up) and they're all healthy except one- she seems to have Omphalitis- it looks like an abscess on her belly which is now drying up and getting smaller. She's eating and drinking well and it doesn't seem to bother her and she seems to be fighting the infection great- she's a tough chick!
I've dealt with abscesses on other animals before and they've healed up wonderfully and I wondered if I could feed her some higher protein foods to help her fight the infection? it's what I've done for dogs in the past and it really helped.
what do people think?
I've rescued and healed other animals before but I'm a bit lost with chicks :/
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

Can you post a pic?
Is it the umbilicus that was swollen and now receding?
Are you medicating her?
How old is she?

It may not be an infection, but just a slow to absorb yolk sac.

she's exactly a week old. It was weeping and gooey but it's dried up today. It's also smaller. she had a bald patch that I was keeping an eye on and then all of a sudden on friday it started weeping. it doesn't seem to be bothering her and she's eating, drinking and pooing ok. she's pretty lively. I separated her from the others but I don't know what to give her

Raw garlic's a natural antibiotic, antibacterial, antiseptic, antiviral, antimicrobial, etc etc etc... Has over 30 natural antibiotics in it and when you freshly crush or cut it, Allicin develops from the enzyme interaction, and this is so potent it can kill bacteria that the most powerful man made antibiotics can't. Garlic's also high in sulfur and this speeds healing and also helps by being antiparasitic. As another benefit, garlic prevents, and cures, coccidiosis.