Posts are scaring me!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tulie13, Feb 21, 2009.

1. tulie13

tulie13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2009
    NW Florida
    Wow - I'm getting my first shipment of baby chicks on March 11 - I have never done this before and now I'm getting worried... [​IMG]

I ordered some of the vitamin/electrolyte stuff, but what's all this about boots? [​IMG] I'm getting 45 of the little guys (30 for me, 12 for a friend, and 3 for my sister) and I'll receive them all at my house first. So it is up to ME to keep them all alive! I have never done this before, I know about the light, the temperature, and giving them the starter electrolyte stuff. I understand that they are baby chicks and will have just been shipped by mail, and I may have casualties. [​IMG]

But what's this about boots? I can surmise that they are for straightening out their feet if they are curling too much, but how to make them? Can you buy them? Are they REALLY necessary for the chick or is this just a cosmetic thing for show birds? [​IMG] What else do I need to know for my first batch of babies? HELP!

2. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Sometimes, babies hatch with foot issues. Some decide to try to train them to hold out straight. Some cull the chick. Just your choice which you do. Sometimes incubation issues cause that and sometimes it's genetic, which is why some cull the chick. Sort of depends on how bad it is. The boot is usually a flat piece of cardboard that the toes are taped to in a straight-out position.

3. Guitartists

Guitartists Resistance is futile

Mar 21, 2008
    Michigan
    READ READ READ! [​IMG] You have plenty of time to stockpile much information on raising chicks and you will find everything you ever needed to know here at the BYC [​IMG]