Predator Schedules

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by jgaepi, Nov 22, 2011.

1. jgaepi

jgaepi Out Of The Brooder

Feb 25, 2011
    davis, ca
    You can tell that I am a newbie from my onslaught of posts today. But just to understand my predator issue betters, I have to worry about predators at different times right? Hawks during the day and Raccoons at night?

I also have a fenced in yard, does this help deter raccoons?

If I lock my hens up every night, do I reasonably eliminate my raccoon and fox issue? And then I am just left with a hawk concern.

I don't know how my buddy has done it but he has a near similar backyard to me and has no roof on his long (100ft) run. Locks the hens up at night. And hasn't lost anything.

2. baldessariclan

baldessariclan Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2010
    Wichita, KS
    You are right -- different predators operate at different times. Hawks/dogs/coyotes/etc. will be a problem during the day, and raccoons/possums/weasels/etc. at night.

Good (tall!) fences will keep dogs and coyotes out (unless they can dig under). Raccoons are excellent climbers, though, so fences won't have much (if any) effect on them (unless they happen to be electric... [​IMG] )

A secure/predator-proof coop will eliminate most of your night predator worries, while a fenced-in and netted-over area will keep out the daytime trouble-makers.

3. Sjisty

Sjisty Scribe of Brahmalot

May 18, 2009
    Brooksville
    Yes, raccoons are nocturnal, so closing your chickens up in a coop at night should protect them from raccoons and possums. A fence won't stop them, they will just climb over it. Foxes will attack your chickens in broad daylight. I lost seven chickens in two days to a fox, all in the middle of the day. I know it's a fox because I actually saw it one time. Hawks, of course, hunt all day and the only way to keep your chickens completely safe is to cover their run.

4. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010