Professional Resume Writing - anyone have any experience?

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by KellyHM, Dec 28, 2010.

1. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    I am a veterinarian and am currently looking for a new job. I've only been out of school a year and a half, so don't have a ton of stuff to put on a resume. I recently wrote a resume and submitted it through a veterinary society website for critique. They basically told me that it's crap (in a very nice way) and that I sound like a lower-level candidate. I know that I'm good at my job, but I also know that I am TERRIBLE at anything that isn't science-based (like writing). They have a service which will work with you and basically overhaul/rewrite your resume, but it costs around $350, which sounds like a lot to me. Any advice would be appreciated and if you happen to do this for a living, that would be amazing!! [​IMG]

2. Omran

Omran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Bagdad KY
    Quote:Hello, I think I am the last one who should say anything, because I am a dirt mover in excavating business, but I honest to God think that the best thing if you can get a small truck and start farm calls on your own, you will have way more fun and way more money. I used to work for someone else for a long time, but when they laied me off, I just started on my own with very little, and since 2003 I am all on my own.

3. The Chicken Lady

The Chicken Lady Moderator Staff Member

Apr 21, 2008
    West Michigan
    Shouldn't the college you attended be able to help you with resume writing? My university has an office dedicated to helping graduates polish their resumes and find work.

4. chikky

chikky Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2009
    Glenmont, Ohio
    Another suggestion is to look at resumes of your competition and see what they're doing. Definitely follow up on any assistance your school can give you. Good luck!

5. Cindiloohoo

Cindiloohoo Quiet as a Church Mouse