quail colour genetics

Discussion in 'Quail' started by darkfur, Jan 27, 2010.

1. darkfur

darkfur Chillin' With My Peeps

hey guys
    I have a genetics degree and when I started breeding Coturnix quail a few years ago I looked for info on how to breed all the different colours. Well! What a mess! People were calling them all sorts of things when they were in terms of colour genes the same, people were posting info that was just not correct, some crosses seemed to be a mystery.... it was a disaster.
    So I found the literature scientists had produced about it, which was correct but on the other hand it used different names for colour mutations than breeders did and most people couldn't understand it.

Anyway I made sense of it as it applies to the quail I breed. Worked out all the crosses and checked that it worked the same way in real life when I bred my own birds). I am in New Zealand so we don't have all the lovely colour mutations that are present in the US but we do have the major ones.

Which are
    Manchurian gold (aka Italian, Mexican, Speckled, Fawn - also the jumbo versions you have will breed the same in terms of colour)
    Pharoah (aka wild type, brown - also the jumbo versions you have will breed the same in terms of colour)
    English white (white with or without some blotches - also the A&M versions you have will breed the same in terms of colour)
    british range (aka tibetan, really really dark brown but not quite black)
    tuxedo (which actually comes in two forms, both a rosetta and a british range tuxedo)