Question about Poop Boards

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by 4theloveofhens, Jun 21, 2010.

1. 4theloveofhens

4theloveofhens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2010
    Sorry, I'm sure this issue has been addressed a million times but I am a newbie. I am confused when it comes to poop boards. So I think I am going to use laminate counter top as my flooring for the 4 x 4 coop. Do I put an additional "special" easily removable "board" under the roost because that's where they'll poop the most? On my flooring I was going to put pine shavings, so does that mean my poop tray/board will sit on top of the shavings directly underneath the roost? If anyone has any pictures to better explain this phenomenon I would appreciate it! [​IMG]

Thanks!

2. JMPE

JMPE Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2009
    Western Wisconsin
    I'm not the best person to answer this since I don't use boards myself (but I may get there soon), but the idea is to have a board that is either easily removable or reachable to scrape off droppings as often as needed. I have seen boards that are simply placed on top of the litter and boards that are mounted under the roosts. Whatever works best for you in your coop is the right answer.

3. kfchickenlady

kfchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    N.Calif.
    [​IMG] Ditto to above poster, I think the reasoning is to keep the flooring/shavings cleaner. I havent got there yet either, but its a great idea! [​IMG]

4. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:We have a droppings board and I love, love, love it! It is a removable shelf, essentially, that slides under the roost to catch the nightly droppings. Every morning, I scrape it out into a pail and dump it in our compost heap behind the coop. Every few months, I take it out, hose it down and whitewash it with DE.