Questions about laying hens.....are they ok?

ChickPeas

Songster
11 Years
Mar 17, 2008
Iron Station, NC
Since we had our first egg this morning, I started wondering...

Do you think it might be stressful or confusing to a hen the first time she lays? Do you think it "feels" like a natural process to them?

Or maybe they get this weird feeling and think HOLY MOLY, what IS that in me and how do I get it OUT?!
ep.gif

It's got to be a big deal for them-yes? no?

I want to make sure laying eggs is a pleasant experience for my chickens, not a stressful one, so any advice or suggestions would be great. Obviously I'm new to this and need help understanding the process.
roll.png

Also, they've never been de-wormed...I was thinking of taking a fecal smaple to my vet to have it checked...can worms be passed on through the hens eggs?

In rare instances, yes. I've read that it's VERY rare...someone on this forum had it happen to them, I'd have to find it, though. A fecal is a very good way to determine worms, most people just worm periodically just in case. As far as the egg laying goes, well, do humans experience any discomfort or whatever when we ovulate? Nope, it's just a normal part of the cycle. Now, the end of the cycle on the other hand....It's just a part of life, and the hens have instincts that tell them what's going on. How else would my never-been-around-older-chickens leghorn know to make a nest and lay an egg in it??? I think your chickens are fine!

It's funny, alot of women don't feel ovulation, but I know when I do and on which side! It's called mittelschmerz.

Anyway, I just want them to be ok..I don't want them to get freaked out or anything....maybe it's just like taking a poop for them? They just get the urge and go?
lol.png