questions on heat lamp and introducing chicks to older chicks

cboriskin

Songster
8 Years
Nov 5, 2011
I am new to chickens and got my first two about a month ago and another 2 about 2 weeks ago. The first two were moved out to the coop when the second two arrived so I can use the cage for the babies. The two that are out in the coop are doing well. I gave them the heating lamp 24/7 and then started turning it off during the day. The weather has changed and I put the heating lamp on 24/7 again. Is this necessary? It's cold to me, but maybe not for chicks. They are 5 weeks old. The coop is 4X4, insulated walls and ceiling with R15, but have two windows, a door and a nesting box attached from the outside that is not insulated.

When should I turn the heat off and what is the best way to wean them off of it?

The babies are about two weeks old. When can I introduce them to the older ones?

I am in Sacramento, CA. Early mornings are about high 30's and mid days are high 50's - low 60's. When I checked on them this afternoon, they were roosting about 6 inches right of the light source. So they weren't directly under it, but closer rather then further away from the heat source.

I would probably leave the heat off for the older ones so nature can have a chance to grow their feathers properly for the changes in temps.

I would put the new babies outside when they're 5-6 weeks old.

smile.png

Thanks. So, cold turkey with the heat lamp? No weaning time? I guess I forget they are birds...LOL!

Same temps here. I'm mixing 2 groups today. Older group of 8 and 6 week olds and younger group of 3 weeks.
One of the younger birds flew over the divider and has spent the last 2 days with the older birds where there's no heat and she's doing fine.
I'll probably put heat in there at night another 2 or 3 nights if it drops below 40 but they should be ok.

The earlier they go together the better they'll integrate.

Last edited: