Raising Chickens with OCD

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by chickenmadame, Mar 27, 2011.

1. chickenmadame

chickenmadame Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2011
    When a person has Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, one of the many things that help them treat it is exposure therapy. Doing the things that bother you the most. So I bought some chickens. I did not jump into it, in fact my husband and I talked long and hard about it. I have trouble with things that might make me sick, poop, bugs, etc. So I am hoping that raising these animals will help me face my fears straight on. I am an animal lover, and am excited about getting started. Has anyone else had any experience with this?

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    First, welcome to BYC. [​IMG] There is a lot of good information on here and helpful folks to communicate with along the way.
    I have no experience with raising chickens as a way to help with OCD, but I do find this very interesting. I hope that you will keep us posted a long the way.
    I hope that you also just enjoy your birds for the fun creatures they are.

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG]
    I have mild OCD. Also, what my DH calls OCCD - obsessive compulsive cleaning disorder. It took me about 6 months of having chickens to realize I couldn't ever keep their coop as clean as I keep the house.
    Chickens are such funny creatures. They'll win your heart in no time and you'll find that the icky parts don't bother you as much.

4. Squishy

Squishy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2011
    Florida