Reactive Dogs

Chickerdoodle13

The truth is out there...
12 Years
Mar 5, 2007
Phoenix, AZ
Its been a while since I've started a thread of my own. Mostly I find myself trying to answer others' questions!

I'm curious if anyone else here has had to deal with reactive dogs. I grew up with a cattle dog who was mostly a farm dog. He did his job well, but he didn't like visitors. He was usually confined to the office when we had people over. He is 15 now and was a great dog.

Now I live away from home and I'm in my third year of vet school. Last year (exactly one year ago yesterday), I adopted a dog from a shelter. She is a mixed breed (Definitely beagle, probably some lab, the rest heinz 57) and she was found as a stray. She is about three years old now and definitely had puppies before I got her. She is now spayed and was definitely somebody's pet. She was housebroken and knew what a couch was from the moment I brought her home!

For the most part, she's been an awesome dog. I've done a ton of training with her, we go to training classes at the school, she's done some agility, and we do a lot of hiking. When I adopted her, the rescue told me she had some issues with men and female dogs. However, she seems to be fine with female dogs (Most dogs, actually) if introduced properly. She will snap at dogs when she's on the leash and they are allowed (by the other owners despite me saying not to) to come up to her face. She LOVES guys. I'm a female myself, and my two room mates are females as well, but over the past year, I've seen her start to have some issues with certain females. Sometimes its when females come up to her to try and pet her without me knowing, and when I was staying at my family's house this summer, she seemed to have an issue with women washing their hands and reaching for paper towels at our kitchen sink.