Rescued duckling

MaisaFerrand

Hatching
Jun 25, 2022
I found this cute duckling in the river. It was by itself, drowning. Looked for mom with siblings and couldn’t find them. He couldn’t lift his head up, so I thought he had a birth defect and would not make it. 2 days later he is doing great. He started eating ground chicken feed yesterday on his own. Never had ducks before, only wild ones that come eat my chicken’s feed. Any idea what breed this cutie could be?

Attachments

• C79131E4-3CDE-445D-B972-C6BC323E1ED9.jpeg
    C79131E4-3CDE-445D-B972-C6BC323E1ED9.jpeg
    923.4 KB · Views: 6
  • 3D6094DC-455B-4F03-9709-F2D91FD0F689.jpeg
    3D6094DC-455B-4F03-9709-F2D91FD0F689.jpeg
    852.8 KB · Views: 1
  • 1BE69DFB-AA79-4353-BECF-388350ABBCEA.jpeg
    1BE69DFB-AA79-4353-BECF-388350ABBCEA.jpeg
    409.1 KB · Views: 1
I'm no expert but I believe ducks, even wild ducks? need more vitamin B than is formulated into chick starter. If you have brewer's yeast, you can add that, just look up the ratio. If you plan to keep him, you can switch to duck pellets that will include enough of the vitamins they need. I'll be curious to see how this goes! Good luck.

Welcome to BYC! He is a wild mallard. Look up the rules were you live because in a lot of places it's illegal to keep wild ducks.
Thanks! I’m not planning to keep him. I just wanted to save him and hopefully he will become friends with the ducks that come eat my chicken feed?

I'm no expert but I believe ducks, even wild ducks? need more vitamin B than is formulated into chick starter. If you have brewer's yeast, you can add that, just look up the ratio. If you plan to keep him, you can switch to duck pellets that will include enough of the vitamins they need. I'll be curious to see how this goes! Good luck.
Thanks :) I’ll read up on the brewer’s yeast. I’ll post pics in a few days!

Thanks :) I’ll read up on the brewer’s yeast. I’ll post pics in a few days!