Roo or Not

GrassyNole

In the Brooder
Jun 26, 2023
Greetings, hoping for some help as Im new to chickens. These are a little over 2 months old and were purchased from Hoover Hatchery via TSC. They were supposed to be female but I know I have at least one roo at this point...questioning others now. Any help for sure sexing would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_4528.jpeg
    IMG_4528.jpeg
    562.6 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_4529.jpeg
    IMG_4529.jpeg
    704.2 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4530.jpeg
    IMG_4530.jpeg
    511.3 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_4531.jpeg
    IMG_4531.jpeg
    854.2 KB · Views: 16
Third one is your only pullet
Right.
You have 3 roosters :(.
The 1st, 2nd, and 4th are definitely roosters 110%.
Whoever sexed them probably lacked experience, or maybe they made a shipping mistake.
You might be able to get a refund from TSC. Since they only had a 25% correct percentage, you should give them a call.
:thumbsup

Here is the whole scoop. Family really wanted Eater Eggers so I waited until we could order these. Called TSC weekly before they suggested just ordering but had to be a minimum of 10. So, I ordered 10 and kept them for 4 weeks before giving two friends 3 each. My space only allows for 4 chickens. Now, after all this, to find out I only have one hen is a bit of a letdown to say the least. Just called one friend and she thinks at least one of her three are roo too.

What is the best option from here. Get rid of all 4 and start over? See if TSC will send 3 replacement? That option sounds like a pain because I don't really have the space to raise 3 baby chickens until they are old enough to join the coop.

And of course, my daughter is going to be upset now as they are all named :(

Thanks!!