Room for how many?

Bigbody

In the Brooder
Mar 19, 2016
I've read books and several threads on here about how much space is needed to raise a chick. I'm still fairly new to raising chickens, I started last spring. I bought 12 chicks and originally started them in a large Rubbermaid tote, and after the 1st week I learned that the 6"x6" per chick is not nearly enough lol. So on short notice I made a brooder out of cardboard I had on hand. But by about week 4ish they had knocked over their waterer enough times to where the cardboard was soggy and smelly but I still needed to keep them in the brooder another week or so. We have enjoyed our chickens and the eggs quite a bit, and I'm looking forward to raising more this spring and I'm drawing plans for a longer lasting brooder box lol. It will be 4'6"x4' so 18 sqft. My question is how many chicks can I keep until they are 4-5 weeks old without the overcrowding issues? Sorry I took so long to get to the point, and thanks for any advice or feedback

I've read books and several threads on here about how much space is needed to raise a chick. I'm still fairly new to raising chickens, I started last spring. I bought 12 chicks and originally started them in a large Rubbermaid tote, and after the 1st week I learned that the 6"x6" per chick is not nearly enough lol. So on short notice I made a brooder out of cardboard I had on hand. But by about week 4ish they had knocked over their waterer enough times to where the cardboard was soggy and smelly but I still needed to keep them in the brooder another week or so. We have enjoyed our chickens and the eggs quite a bit, and I'm looking forward to raising more this spring and I'm drawing plans for a longer lasting brooder box lol. It will be 4'6"x4' so 18 sqft. My question is how many chicks can I keep until they are 4-5 weeks old without the overcrowding issues? Sorry I took so long to get to the point, and thanks for any advice or feedback