1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Rooster genetics

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the Standard o' started by werb, Jan 7, 2015.

1. werb

werb Out Of The Brooder

Aug 27, 2013
    Hi all I'm completely new to breeding and I have finally found a Roo who is pretty quite.
    As you can see by the picture he is black with an orange neck. He is with an all black hen and a cuckoo frizzel hen. What colours am I likley to expect from these? Thanks in advance :)
    [​IMG]

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    It’s hard to tell for sure what genetics a chicken has just by looking so you have to make some assumptions unless you know the background of the chickens. One really huge assumption is that the genetics are pure, that there are no recessive genes hiding under dominant genes. A whole lot of times that is not true but you have to have something to go by.

The rooster looks like a Black Copper so I’ll assume he is Birchen and has gold.

The all-black hen is probably Extended Black and likely has Silver. Most all-black black breeds do. That black coloring can hide about anything under it so you can really get some surprises, but if she is pure for that black you should get solid black chicks with that rooster. It’s possible you will see some red leakage. That means you could have a few red feathers leaking through the solid black. I’d kind of expect that on the males, not so much on the females.