Rooster injured by coyote

Dave Z

In the Brooder
10 Years
May 29, 2009
Hi,

Newbie here, trying to get some tips on how to treat my rooster, who was injured by a coyote. According to the feed store I got him from, he's an Ameracauna, (although I've come to understand that the generic Easter Egger is probably more accurate). He's almost a year old. On Wednesday, a coyote got in the yard and Bubba (he's a big bird) took him on. He held him off for some time, long enough for all the hens to find a safe place. Before I could get out there, the battle apparently raged all over the yard. I found 5 areas with a lot of feathers on the ground.

Bubba was exhausted and beat up pretty bad. He could hardly walk, kind of staggered a lot. I suspect injury to his right leg. He lost a lot of feathers, basically has no tail. He has some swelling around his left eye. The eye itself looks fine, but I'm not sure he's seeing out of it. He came to the door and we let him in and he collapsed. He regained some strength in a couple of hours and we put him out with the ladies.

Since then, he's doing a lot better. He is not crowing, but he's walking better, even flapping his wings a little, but he seems to have some problem with his neck, making it hard to bend down for water or food. Also, there may be some injury to his beak. He had what looked like blood and tissue in his beak. Don't know how it could be his, so maybe from the coyote? Anyway, he can't seem to fully close his beak.

All this means that he has eaten almost nothing for two days. He didn't seem to be able to drink either so I held him and used a teaspoon to trickle some water into his beak, which he swallowed. I can keep that up for a couple of days, hoping whatever injury will heal. I tried putting some bread dipped in milk into his beak, but he didn't swallow that. He acts hungry, but unable to eat.