Rooster or Hen?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Kchinks, Sep 19, 2014.

1. Kchinks

Kchinks New Egg

Sep 19, 2014
    Hi all

I'm pretty new to the whole backyard chook thing so this may seem like a really silly question but here goes

I got three 12 week old chicks about 3 months back, one is definitely a hen as I've seen her laying, the other two have been arousing my suspicions lately as to wether they are actually indeed girls, especially since the welsummer just had a weird little crow, which has prompted me to take a closer look at the pair of them. I have 9 birds in total and the two in question hang out together all the time and have little scraps sometimes but never anything serious, the Welsummer is picked on quite badly by the older hens also. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I would really appreciate if you could take a look at the pics of "Heide" and "Princess Layer" and give me some opinions.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Don't know who is who but, the red one is a rooster and so is the frizzle.

3. Kchinks

Kchinks New Egg

Sep 19, 2014
    Bugger, I thought as much, thanks for confirming my suspicions, looks like a name change and a new home is in order for these two:)

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana