rooster question?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by rooster lover 119, Dec 21, 2010.

1. rooster lover 119

rooster lover 119 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2010
    Hi everyone im new to chicken farming. just started this year! and I've learned a lot! but my step dad won't let us get two roosters! [​IMG] I try to convince him why it is good to have more like how they keep order in the flock, etc. but i just can't convince him! he says if you put roosters together they won't stop until the other one is killed. is this true? i know they fight but will they to the death? i've seen many chicken farms including friends who have many roosters with their hens? can someone help me out and convince my step dad why we SHOULD get another roo!

Thanks!!!![​IMG] [​IMG]

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    How many hens do you have?

3. rooster lover 119

Aug 8, 2010
    i have ten hens one roo. [​IMG] [​IMG]

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    10 hens and one rooster, I have to agree with your Stepdad. Another rooster is just asking for problems ranging from fighting to wear and tear on the hens. Raise some chicks next year with one of your broody hens. Increase the hens in your flock and keep one of the young cockerels. The dominant rooster will keep him in his place and you will have two roosters and many more hens.[​IMG]

5. rooster lover 119

Aug 8, 2010
    ok cool we were already gonna make black stars with my RIR rooster and my barred rock hens! thanks![​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

6. michickenwrangler

michickenwrangler To Finish Is To Win

Jun 8, 2008
    NE Michigan
    Generally 3 roos will get along better than 2.

1 roo to 10 hens is a good ratio.

Are they free-ranged or confined?