Roosting on people...disrespect?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by notsooldmcdonald, Oct 14, 2008.

1. notsooldmcdonald

notsooldmcdonald Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 14, 2008
    Lempster, NH
    Hi All-

I've always considered my Red Sex Link ladies to be pretty friendly (I'm new to them, and they're new to me, only 17 weeks and my first chickens), but I have a couple of them who keep trying to roost on me without us having that conversation first. For example, I will be hanging around the pen, watching everybody, when *whoosh* I have a chicken try to awkwardly roost on me by fluttering/climbing her way up me! I sometimes catch one or two eyeing me like they want to _try_ that move, but so far have moved my position when I notice that look. Also, I often feed the ladies as they perch on the roost in their pen area. It is without fail that I end up with one or two on my forearm, which doesn't startle me as much, but often happens tres rapido!

Now, I have horses, and am well versed in how they view space, and understand that invading space is a sign of aggression/dominance/disrespect. Obviously, chickens aren't horses, but I am interested to know if I need to deal with this from the standpoint of asserting myself, or welcoming a friendly gesture.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
    -Christian

2. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    I've always taken it as a friendly gesture. When mine were younger they would come sit on my shoulders and lap and "chat" with me. They don't do it so much now that they're grown and I miss it!
    You do have to watch out for unfortunate "accidents". Wear an old shirt!

3. horsejody

horsejody Squeaky Wheel

Feb 11, 2008
    Waterloo, Nebraska
    I would guess that they are used to being picked up, and they like it.

4. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin