Royal palm- Sweetgrass genetics-please help

1Chick Magnet

Songster
11 Years
Sep 16, 2008
New Hampshire
I am new to turkeys. I have only had them for 4 weeks. I have royal 2 palm toms. I bought 3 royal palm hens. I also picked up a bronze hen that is half sweetgrass and half black Spanish. Does anyone know what I will get if I breed the bronze sweetgrass mix to a royal palm? I can go buy a bronze tom-half sweetgrass and half black Spanish. Would any of the poults look like sweetgrass?
I have a burbon poult too. What would she produce if bred to a royal or to the sweetgrass mix?
I am trying to decide who to keep -who to sell-who to buy.

he.gif

I wish I knew more about genetics. I have been to porters web page and love some of the versions of palms I see there. Wondering if I have the possibility to produce any of those pretty colors.

Any advice would be appreciated.

From my recent research with my own birds, I think you might get more bronze and some Narragansett. I don't know about the other crosses...

ETA: I really don't know what I'm talking about--just have been playing with the turkey calculator a lot lately.

Last edited:
From my recent research with my own birds, I think you might get more bronze and some Narragansett. I don't know about the other crosses...

ETA: I really don't know what I'm talking about--just have been playing with the turkey calculator a lot lately.
where is the turkey calculator?

Royal palms are black-wing bronze based with double recessive gray and Narragansett genes, or b1b1cgcgngng, where b1 is the black wing gene, cg is gray, and ng is Narri.

A sweetgrass b1b1cgcgNgNg x black BBCCNgNg. (Black based with not white genes and not Narragansett genes) would have a genetic makeup of Bb1CcgNgng, and should look like a black bird. If it looks like a bronze, I would question it's parentage.

If you cross these, you can get several combinations.

Toms

Bb1CcgNgng. Will look black.
Bb1cgcgNgng. Will look black-based gray