scared of roaches

staceyharrison

Hatching
8 Years
Apr 2, 2011
Hi, I'm new to BYC . My name is Stacey and I live in Tucson, AZ. I've not yet taken the leap into chicken-hood but am seriously exploring the idea. My greatest fear is cockroaches and I've heard they are a terrible problem for chicken owners? Please tell me more if you can - especially with regard to the desert.

Honey..
ep.gif
I have no idea what you are talking about. I live in humid wet Texas, Roach country, and I have raised chickens and ducks forever, and I DO NOT have a roach problem! They wouldn't live long enough if I did. Chickens eat ANYTHING that moves too long.. Enjoy your chickens, they even kill snakes if they're not too big..
big_smile.png

I assure you that is a myth ,i have over 500 birds on this farm and not one cockroach .

Now if you live in town or a heavely populated area were cockroches like to live then yea they are comming to dinner.
flocks.jpg

A warm welcome from an imp in Washington

BYC is the place to be

I can't answer your question about roaches, but have not seen it posted as a problem on BYC. I would think chicklens would eat the roaches.

Had the chance to spend some time in Tucson a few years ago. Found it beautiful, and VERY different from Seattle. Imagine that-
lol.png

Imp

Roaches likes any bug just add to the protien of c chickens diet. I had one rental that Orkin didn't even want to tackle. Left a few chicken there for two weeks, problem solved. Did have to replace all the carpet though.

Quote:
Hilarious! Are you fibbin'? That would be too funny.

I have had a lot of mice this spring....and my hens love to play "mouse football."

I wonder if I could use the chicken extermination technique you describe......LOL