Selective breeding cooperation

Whiskey bear,

I am very interested in the larger egg hatching. My goal is trading my large eggs to other folks for similar sized incubating eggs to maintain a better gene pool. I plan to start weighing my eggs and birds soon. I’m new to quail raising but enjoying the eggs, incubation process, and looking forward to having good sized meat birds to eat. I’m also interested in getting my birds off the commercial bagged feed and onto more natural local sourced feed or make my own. Thanks in advance for any help.

Alex

My second post tonight, but on an entirely different topic.

When I started with quail this time last year it was with the understanding that jumbo strains had been developed and that with such a fast breeding cycle, stock size could be optimized rapidly. I started this spring experimenting with only incubating huge eggs. It paid off. Last year, I started with birds from Blue Ridge, eggs from Southwest and Myshire. I kept a couple dozen hens averaging 12oz over winter. My first hatch this spring incubating only eggs over 16 grams gave me 10 hens averaging 15 oz. All bigger than their mothers. Bigger eggs do indeed hatch into bigger birds. I now have 20 hens from them to keep over winter for next year. I’ll repeat the process.

This season’s getting late, I’m just doing some large, non-selective hatches to fill my freezer for the winter. Between collecting for those I have a lot of bigger eggs from the old ladies and their bigger daughters going to waste. If I had others looking to optimize breeding stock I would be happy to give them these eggs. Next year, I would love to have such from those people. New blood. Myshire and Southwest will send me whatever eggs they gather the day they send them. Individuals intent on selective breeding could swap select eggs of a certain size. Is anyone interested in setting up a circle for egg swapping like this in the US?