Should I clean off dirty eggs before I start incubating?

chicmom

Dances with Chickens
14 Years
Feb 24, 2009
Strasburg Ohio
Hello! I just rec'd 18 hatching eggs in the mail......These eggs are kinda dirty. Should they be washed or cleaned before I incubate them? And if I should wash them, how do I do that?

Thank you!

Now that I study egg cuticles for a living, I will be changing over to washing all of my duck eggs before hatching. The chicken eggs aren't usually terribly dirty, but ducks always choose mud over a clean nest - ALWAYS. It's ridiculous. Here's one of the articles that changed my mind - along with testing egg cuticle thickness and resilience myself:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22004811

I can't' help myself! If an egg has poop on it I wash it off. They hatch just the same! Better than putting all that bacteria into the incubator!

I hope you have a great hatch! ☺

Do NOT wash the eggs before putting in the incubator or the bloom can be destroyed. If they are heavily soiled you can brush them off. I have put eggs in the incubator that had a bit of nest dirt on them/stains and they were just fine. Only remove what would easily come off by gently wiping with a scotch scrubbie... or a very fine gritt sand paper... gentle is the key!!!!

Me personally, I would wash them. I sanitise my own eggs by dunking them in a hot dilute bleach solution and they hatch better than the ones I leave unwashed (as a control group)... All the big commercial hatcheries sanitise their hatching eggs and if it didn't give them better hatch rates they wouldn't be doing it.

usually running them under a faucet and rubbing them with your hands or a paper towel is enough.. I don't sanitize them any further,but if you do use bleach, go very sparingly with the bleach in the water.. I would use like a tablespoon of bleach to a gallon of water..