Show me your Back Yard Chicken processing stations!!

IttyBiddyRedHen

Songster
8 Years
Jul 30, 2011
East coast
I am new to this BYC keeping life. We aren't to the point of having a whole lot of chickens to process at one time yet. Eventually, we are hoping to put 52 birds a year into the deep freeze.
As for right now, I am using an old card table, with a plastic table cloth. It has been "finding out what I need as I go along..." for the most part.
DH and I are starting to collect processing supplies and utensils. Getting educated as to what works and what doesn't.
I only processed my first cockerel the other day. Figuring out what steps, in what order, and what supplies to have on hand.

So.....does anyone else out there use a portable set up for processing? Instead of having to find supplies all over the place.....or realize you need to go purchase or order stuff? I have no pics myself yet. Just ideas.

The most simple station we ever set up was 2 Hefty bags on the tailgate of the truck.

Then we bought a cheap table, and put it on the tailgate.

Now we just have chairs and sit and do the deed with the table on the ground.

We have a propane boiler with temp gauge

We use a large piece of wood with 2 screws in it to hold the neck, an axe and then hang them upside down on a O ring with S hook into our homemade wood pile holder and into a bucket.

It's not really too complicated.

We have:
Table
2 sharp knives
scissors
lung scraper
paper towels and Lysol wipes
propane boiler
thermometer
5 gallon bucket of cold water
hose
small bit of rope for the legs
5 gallon empty bucket for the blood
trash can
we have a homemade plucker but I rarely use it
axe and axing station (wood as described above)
cooler filled with cold water and ice

Here's the plucker: