Sick chick?

Homesteadwishes

In the Brooder
Jun 26, 2023
Hello! I am new to raising chickens. I have 9, 2 wk. old chicks of various breeds (3 salmon faverolle, 2 easter eggers, 2 buff orpingtons, 1 golden buff or red star, and 1 speckled sussex). I am concerned with my golden buff, Sweetie. She's always the first one to run out of the brooder and expects to be taken out to "play". This morning, she came out as usual but she didn't seem her normal self while out. She pecked at the floor and moved about but it wasn't with her usual zeal. I checked her crop which was not even close to full. I gave her some electrolyte water which she drank, and she also drank plain water on her own. When placed back into the brooder, she went back to the "mamma hen cave" and settled toward the back to sleep- that is not typical behavior for her. She normally goes to eat, drink, then settles in for a nap in the middle or front of the hen cave. She did help herself to chick grit (as did the other chicks when I refilled their container) and she did eat a little when I gave her some food while she was out. But she's not eating much at all. I'm not sure what to do with her. Her poop was a little liquidity but still had a solid mass- if anything, it was on the smaller size but I don't think it was that unusual.
All the other chicks are doing well- running around, eating, drinking, jumping around (I call it angry bird activity). No unusual poops that I can see. They have been outside- the temps here have been in the 80's when I've had them out. They're only out for about 15-20 mins which they enjoy very much. They have eaten some insects (mainly ants) plus some greens while outside.