Sick/Dead Hen

MissDeb

Songster
11 Years
Apr 22, 2008
Mat-su Alaska
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the world of chickens and had no idea what I was getting into when I took on 8 homeless girls who were no longer wanted by their prior owner. I was told they were 6 months old at the time (now 9 months).
I have been at my witts end this last week trying to figure out what was wrong with a hen I had. (She just died about a hour ago). She was acting depressed, we had just butchered a rooster that she bonded with and I had thought that was her problem until I noticed everyone picking on her. She wasnt eating or drinking. Her stool was loose and very yellow. I removed her from the coop and placed her in a quiet place away from all the others.
Anyhow, I went to go get some antibiotics and a dewormer came back home and she had died. When I picked her up, there was a very strange, fowl yellow substance coming out of her beak.

I guess my question now, is...does anyone think the rest of my flock is at risk? I have ordered some DE, (I just learned about this lastnight) and am trying to do everything I possibly can to keep the rest of them safe. Should I bleach all the things that the hen had? The area she was in, etc? What about the coop, she was in there for a good week before I took her out to isolate her.

Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated! Thank you for such a wonderful website!

I am sorry I don't know about the health issues of your chickens but wanted to tell you I applaud you for taking the poor unwanted babies. There are great members on here and somebody will be able to tell you the info you are looking for.

Yellow goo coming from her beak.. was her body thin? Could she have developed an impacted crop and essentially starved despite looking full?