Sick Hen! Any suggestions?!

cntrygrl27

In the Brooder
Jan 27, 2019
E0B7EC1B-B4DB-4E2B-AF81-5A7C4A923480.jpeg
8727A879-B06E-4319-B311-5BAA46773FFB.jpeg
Hi all! I’m new to chicken raising and have had my flock since just before Christmas! I have a Brahma rooster, 2 Brahma hens, and 2 Buff Orpington Hens! Everyone has been doing great until yesterday evening! I got home from work and noticed one of my Brahma hens was missing from the bunch.

I went into the coop to find her perched up on the roost. I had a strong suspicion something was up. It became even stronger when I was actually able to walk over to her and pick her up without her freaking out. I put her outside and she walked around fine and ate a few mealworms. So I left her in the pen for the night thinking maybe I was just overreacting.

Well this morning she came out of the coop fine and seemed to be normal except I was still able to pick her up without her freaking out, and then I noticed her poop from where she has roosted last night (picture attached). I quickly separated her and now have her in a dog kennel with some straw, water, food, and towels draped over. It looks like she has eaten some food and had water but her poop is still the same. After reading so much it seems like it could be a number of things. So if anyone could help me out that would be great!!!

She is roughly a year old, I’ve never noticed her to have laid an egg yet. I keep their coop clean, water clean, area dry, they have a huge place for dust bathing. She’s on regular layer feed from tractor supply. I throw them some scratch grain in the evenings as a treat. All my other chickens appear to be fine right now.

I read about inserting your finger in the vent to see if she may be egg bound, so I did that but couldn’t feel anything.

Please Help!

Just keep her warm, dry, and isolated. Watch the others for problems, clean the area with the runny poo. If the problem persists consider having a vet check her over.