Silkie using their nesting boxes

sophie94

In the Brooder
May 17, 2017
Hi,
I will have my Silkies one week tomorrow. They've already came on leaps and bounds when using their coop as they had never been in one before - but I'm just wondering will they automatically use their nesting box themselves when they come to lay or will I have to train them? At the minute the two of them just pile together on top of each other on the wee mats on the grids of their coop (beside their nesting box) so I'm just wondering will they naturally use the box or just lay wherever?
Any advice will be greatly appreciated (I'm new to all of this)
Sophie, :)

They should naturally lay in the nesting boxes, but occasionally they decide to lay somewhere outside in long grass, etc. I usually put a few fake eggs (golf balls) in the nesting boxes and I don't have any trouble with them laying elsewhere. Hope that helps!

They should naturally lay in the nesting boxes, but occasionally they decide to lay somewhere outside in long grass, etc. I usually put a few fake eggs (golf balls) in the nesting boxes and I don't have any trouble with them laying elsewhere. Hope that helps!
Thank you :) they aren't laying at the minute - they're only around 5 months but I've had their nesting box in from they arrived. The first few nights I put them in it but now that they know their coop they just come up when I call them and lie in a wee pile at the top of the ladder so I've been leaving their nesting box empty. I would just be afraid of their eggs falling through the grids - I do have 2 mats on the main bit of their grids to help them move around because they were finding it so hard at the beginning! But I'll just keep an eye out every morning just incase :)