So afraid: Will I lose my pekin eggs?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by strangytie, Apr 16, 2017.

1. strangytie

strangytie Just Hatched

Apr 14, 2017
    Gainesville, Georgia
    My mother order eggs online and the company's site (Sadly, not Metzer or anything as organized) gave no indication as to how old the eggs may or may not be when shipped, like Metzer does by saying all hatched eggs are shipped on a monday. We reviewed our eggs on the 28th or so of March about fourteen days after ordering. i only candles a single egg that day (this is my first time hatching and I didn't think to candle the others) and it was supposedly twelve days old according to how I saw the candling chart. If that was true, the duckling should have at least pipped externally sometime this week, right? I candles the others and they were all over the age map on Friday of this week, some were 26-27 days old, one appeared to be 18, and two are questionable because I think they may have not made it past an embryo stage. I'm worried because I attend classes and my mother watches the bator while I'm out. I come home and the humidity is over 70% almost every day and I don't know how to lessen it. We also have our eggs in turners like chicken eggs traditionally are, not in their sides and it is too late to fix them as some appear to be close to pipping. I tried to take photos but the quality is terrible and my last two photos are the same egg, it has a crack in it from the inside because you can't feel it but when i candled I could see a dark spot over the crack. I'm in a panic right now because I can't lose these eggs.

Here are the photos on my Flickrhttps://flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/sets/72157682676410305

I am very scared of losing these eggs. Could I take out the incubator's turners and lay them on the plastic grate below? It's an A&I Brooder Incubator and it's all plastic. Please help me if you can!

2. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens