So Quail.......

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Massey, Dec 29, 2014.

1. Massey

Massey Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2014
    I currently have Ducks and chickens, and i'm thinking about getting quail, (will keep separate to chickens and ducks), but i suppose my main question right now is whats the different types of breeds people here are keeping and why did you choose that breed? if it makes a different i'm living in ireland.

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Dark Sider Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    Well, I have just started keeping coturnix. I like them because they mature quickly - they are laying by six weeks and ready to be processed too. They are also large - you can get jumbos that reach a pound, and lay big eggs. They also come in a lot of colors, so if you want them to be pretty as well as productive, you have lots of color choices.

3. James the Bald

James the Bald Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2013
    I've been raising Coturnix for just shy of 2 years. The hens lay roughly 300 eggs per year (one each day or so). The main reason is the eggs. I love eggs, and there are so many different theories on cholesterol with chicken eggs. In comparison, a chicken egg has roughly 98 calories per egg, whereas a quail egg has 14 calories. With about 3 quail eggs to equal one chicken egg, I'm still getting more nutrition and less calories with quail eggs. Plus, the quail egg is said to h ave more of the HDL cholesterol compared to chicken eggs. Sundays, I prepare myself a 10 quail egg omelet loaded with tomatoes, onions and peppers... and my nutritionist keeps telling me to keep up the good work, so I must be doing something halfway decent with quail eggs.