So what do you do????

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by dandydoodle, Nov 19, 2011.

1. dandydoodle

dandydoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    When temps start going down what do you do??? Do you set out warming pads? Do you set up heating lamps? Do you cover the areas of your coop to block off the wind? I am still quite new to the chicken thing. I noticed today one of my chickens combs was purple on the back half. I think they are cold but, I really don't know what to do. So what do you do to prepare for the winter?

Thanks,
    MIchelle

[​IMG]

2. kari_dawn

kari_dawn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2009
    North Texas
    putting vaseline on combs can keep them from getting frost bitten...down here we just put up a wind block, and stuff the coop. I am trying straw this year. We shall see how that goes [​IMG]

3. Mother_Hen2011

Mother_Hen2011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    New Mexico
    I block my run on the sides but not the front and only half of the top. I but done about 2 inches of pine shavings and make sure that it is nice an toasty in there for them. 3 hens and 2 ducks [​IMG] This is our first winter with chickens and Im hoping everything goes well. Got my vasaline ready to go helps keep them from getting frostbite [​IMG]

4. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    Make sure they have food, water, and a draft-free place to roost at night. They'll be fine, really. I don't think it could possibly get cold enough in GA to be dangerous to a fully feathered adult chicken. How cold was it there? Just wondering because the purple comb worries me a bit. It's gotten down to -20's here in MN in the winter and I've never had a chicken with a purple comb. Hopefully someone else can be of more help with that than I am.

5. wyododge

wyododge Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2011
    Wyoming