Some questions

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Epointer, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Epointer

Epointer New Egg

Apr 8, 2011
    Hi everyone. I am new to hatching anything. I have been reading what ever I can find to learn more about it before I order my eggs. I purchased a used Sportsman 1202 incubator, and a 1200 hatcher. My questions are, do I need a wet bulb humidity thermometer, or can I use the other type? Do I need to candle all eggs, or can I put 350 eggs in, and just let it go? Some of the stuff I have read on here makes me think I need to candle, but that's a lot of eggs. I also plan on running over a thousand quail eggs at a time, and it would not be possible to candle that many eggs at a time.

2. Epointer

Epointer New Egg

Apr 8, 2011
    Anybody?

3. nurseshelly

nurseshelly Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Gilbert AZ
    Quote:I'm not sure about your bator question, since I use a little Hova Bator. With the eggs, if you number them on the air cell end, you could candle some here and there and mark them off of a list as you go. Then you might find bad eggs / quitters early before they smell and blow up.

4. smokeykk

smokeykk Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Pennsylvania