Sour Crop!

Janealiene

In the Brooder
Mar 23, 2023
I’m new to raising chickens - I’ve had them for 2 years and have had no issues - until now. Yesterday, I discovered my Silkie had sour crop - someone told me about this group and I immediately was helped by several people. My girl is still alive. I prayed she would make it through the night and she did. Today I’ve been feeding her yogurt and boiled egg and giving her water with a syringe. Her crop has not accumulated more liquid (we got that out yesterday) and she has been pooping today (she didn’t at all yesterday) - I’m wondering when I should let her eat again - or how long should I keep doing eggs and yogurt. Her crop will fill with air and when I massage it, she burps and it smells horrible. I guess I’m wondering how long will it be before she feels better - or is my poor hen not going to recover from this? Thanks for any input ❤️

Can she drink on her own?
I'd let her eat some wet feed is she's willing.

Treat sour crop with an anti-fungal/yeast medication like Nystatin, Miconazole or Clotrimazole.
Is she pooping?
When was her last egg?
Crop problems are often a symptom of an underlying condition, can you get a fecal float to rule out worms and coccidiosis? Reproductive disorders and infection are often a cause of a crop to slow and become sour as well.

I highly recommend that you read the article below to get more details on treating the crop.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/ar...w-to-know-which-one-youre-dealing-with.73607/

Can she drink on her own?
I'd let her eat some wet feed is she's willing.

Treat sour crop with an anti-fungal/yeast medication like Nystatin, Miconazole or Clotrimazole.
Is she pooping?
When was her last egg?
Crop problems are often a symptom of an underlying condition, can you get a fecal float to rule out worms and coccidiosis? Reproductive disorders and infection are often a cause of a crop to slow and become sour as well.