South Mississippi Calling!

MsMagnolia

In the Brooder
11 Years
May 18, 2008
Tylertown, MS
Hello y'all!

I've been reading this forum for several days and found it interesting, informative and most friendly. As a rule, I generally do not join forums, but this one piqued my interest, so here I am. Most likely I will need help navigating this site since I am not experienced with forums.

I've been around chickens since childhood and have raised them for the better part of my adult life. My husband and I bought 96 chicks in preparation for Y2K and and then another 25 in the spring of 2005. Both batches came from Ideal Poultry without problems. For various reasons and because of Hurricane Katrina, all that remain are a handful.

This month, I ordered 30 pullets from Welp, Inc. because this hatchery was the only one that had all the breeds I wanted. Next month, I will know whether I erred by choosing Welp because of the shipping distance (over 1K miles). If the chicks arrive as anticipated, I plan to order a couple of goslings and additional pullets. I will try remembering to post my experience with this hatchery and perhaps some pix.

Also, I am an avid thread crocheter and prefer making doilies. I have enough thread, books, etc., to last several lifetimes. Too many hobbies and not enough time!
hit.gif

If there's anyone around my neck of the woods (Walthall County), give a wahoo . . . I'd love hear'n from ya!

Until later,

Evelyn

Welcome to BYC - You'll love it here. Lots of information and fun topics to join in on.

I'm in Woodville, MS, not too far away. Before buying our home here we looked at a home in Tylertown - used to belong to Gov. Edwin Edwards.

Wahoo!

I'm in Summit (north Pike county.) Good to meet you. I'm always so thrilled to find people close by (well, the next county over.) I lived in Tylertown for a couple of years when I was a teenager.

What kind of chickens do you have now? I am assembling a small flock of laying hens. This is what I have now: