1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login, otherwise join BYC here!

sponges for hatching

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dustponds10, Feb 11, 2011.

1. dustponds10

dustponds10 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2010
    Rigby, Id
    What sponges do you all use for hatching? Does it matter? I have a cabinet incubator and its my first time.

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

I would try first to see if you can get your humidity up without sponges. If you live in a dry climate though, use them from the start. Just regular old generic sponges. I prefer pink. [​IMG]

3. HenMaster

HenMaster Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2009
    Baton Rouge
    I use the cheap Wal-mart ones.

4. chickensNpoodles

chickensNpoodles Out Of The Brooder

Feb 13, 2010
    I use the Cello brand sponges and had great luck with them. I didn't use sponges this last time and I have to cull alot of eggs so far because they were quitters. My next hatch I will go get some new sponges. One tip that I would like to suggest is to sterlize your sponges every other day either by boiling them in a pot of water, or steaming them in the microwave for 2 minutes. That keeps them clean and bacteria free.

5. Roscoe Red

Roscoe Red Out Of The Brooder

Feb 5, 2011
    When I use a sponge ,I try to position it below a small vent hole in the top so I can add water with a straw and NOT open during lockdown. I take 3 straws and insert them into each other,then I take a forth straw cut a angle on one end insert it in a bottle of water put my finger over the end to hold the water in it and release it into the other straws ,works great.

6. critterranch

critterranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2010
    Red Creek, New York