1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sudden sick chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Katieswan, Jan 30, 2015.

1. Katieswan

Katieswan Out Of The Brooder

Nov 5, 2014
    Hey all, I have been searching the internet to find answers but am having a hard time figuring much out. I have a small flock of 7 hens that I have had since November. This is my first time raising hens and I admit I do not know much about this illness category. Everyone has seemed to be fine and healthy until this afternoon. When I went to close the door on the hen house, I could not find one of the hens. She was tucked away in a corner of the coop underneath a self-type thing. She was not laying down but I first thought she was going to lay an egg. I pulled her out to check her out and she was, lethargic, droopy tail and tucked in head. I was bringing in treats when I came and she didn't even try to go and eat them. I checked her body out and didn't notice anything too weird except her stomach seemed kind of featherless (to be honest, I never looked at their stomach to see how many feathers they normally have). I tried to put her on the roost with the other birds and she didn't even try to move from that spot or lay down but a couple birds pecked at her so I picked her up again and put her on the ground. She slowly walked to the corner again. I didn't know what spot was the best for her. Yesterday, I noticed one dropping that looked dark-blackish and watery but didn't think much of it because it was only one I saw. I checked her crop and it didn't seem large or hard. The birds are all around one year old and I have no idea if they have every been wormed. I am not seeing any respiratory illness signs as of now. Any ideas what this can be? Should I remove