SURPRISE CHICKS! Roo's or Hen's?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by kelseygirl707, Aug 2, 2011.

1. kelseygirl707

kelseygirl707 Dances with Chickens

Mar 3, 2009
    Lakeport, Ca.
    So My Cackle Hatchery Surprise Chicks are 5 weeks, I seperated 11 out that I would like to keep, but I don't want all Roo's so help me figure this out. [​IMG]

Australorp
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Buff Orp
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

PR or NH?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Welsummer or Speckled Sussex?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Gold Laced Cochin
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

SLW #1
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

SLW #2
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Buff Cochin #1
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Buff Cochin #2
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Light Brahma
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. leadwolf1

leadwolf1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011
    The only one I see that looks remotely rooish is the Australorp...but, I have no experience with those. All the others look like girls...but I am no expert..I'm still trying to figure out some of mine and they are 15 weeks old!!!

3. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    Are those little wattles on BC #2? Hmmmmm. Also the Australorp may be rooish. S/he's got some large legs.

4. kelseygirl707

Mar 3, 2009
    Lakeport, Ca.
    I was thinking the same about BC #2, And I am OK with the Australorp being a Roo, I think they are Beautiful!

Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  5. WiiD King

WiiD King New Egg

Aug 2, 2011
    I'd say the australorp is a rooster... I have one and she has a blueish comb still at 6 weeks.

6. Beaker Duck

Beaker Duck BYC's CUTE Travelling Mascot

Jul 22, 2011
    All Over
    Here's what I think...
    Give the austrohowever-you-spell-it a boy name.
    The buff orp.. name it Billie, not sure which it is yet
    PR/NH gets a girl name
    The welsummer/speckled needs a boy name also.
    Gold lace cochin and SLW need girl names.
    Cochin 1, name Frankie- can go either way( No, not like THAT you sick minded young lady)